━ minervaradio.uk

Minerva Radio

Music | Culture | Passion

UK Based Independent Radio

Minerva Arts is a Company Limited by Guarantee No.8098260

Charity Registered in England and Wales No.1149379

Minerva Radio is a 24hr independent, internet, music radio station based in the UK.

Minerva Radio is an independent, internet, music radio station based in the UK.
We figured starting out with the culturally significant Folkscene, is a great place to begin.
Our aim is to grow the station 'organically', introducing new shows & genres along the way.


Brock 'n' Roll now available: 10pm, 4pm, 10am & 4am daily
Recent and upcoming releases, industry news, tour news, videos and more ...

A’ the way to Galloway

A’ the way to Galloway | Jo Miller

Released 4th June 2023.

Trad | Folk | World

A’ the way to Galloway is an album of traditional songs and tunes from a part of Scotland whose music deserves wider recognition. Singer and fiddler Jo Miller leads a group of fine musicians with close connections to the area: Dalry fiddler Amy Geddes, Wigtownshire singer Robyn Stapleton, Jo’s son Neil Sutcliffe on piano, concertina and accordion, and her husband Steve Sutcliffe on bass concertina.

Together, they perform older repertoire including Braes o Galloway – thought to be the source of the well-known Gallowa Hills – along with more recent compositions such as Buchts o Knockreoch about a local sheep clipping. This music has thrived in intimate environments like homes, rural schools and small halls, and the musical arrangements and performances on the album recreate that intimacy.

Jo Miller is well-known for her work in community-based traditional music, formal education, and academic research. This recording draws on her research in the uplands of the Glenkens where she grew up, interviewing local residents and investigating historical sources.

Jo says: “I’m delighted to be sharing these songs and tunes which all have a personal association for me. You will also hear the spoken word, birdsong and singing for dancing – an aural landscape which not only evokes the former life of the Glenkens and its people, but also points toward its lively music culture in the present”.

Track Listing:

01. I was Born in Gallowa

02. Lads that were Reared Among Heather

03. The Hills o Gallowa

04. Miss Jo Miller/Polharrow New Brig

05. Kathleen's

06. Canadie-i-o

07. The Braes of Galloway

08. Gallowa Hills

09. Buchts o Knockreoch

10. Lord Ronald

11. Seasons

12. Toon o Dairy

13. Polka Mazurka

14. Mr Godfrey Smith of Balmaclellan

The album was supported by Creative Scotland.

Recorded and mastered by Garry Boyle of Slate Room Studio.